Class of 2013 Commencement

On Saturday, May 4, 2013, the RCAH celebrated the 40 students in the Class of 2013 with a commencement luncheon and commencement ceremony.

The commencement luncheon featured music from this past semester's Appalachian string band class and recognition of this year's graduates and award winners, including the following:

  • MSUFCU Dean’s Award: Emily Nott (find additional details about Emily's award here)
  • MSU's 2013 Featherstone Prize, presented by Doug Estry, MSU's Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education & Dean of Undergraduate Studies: David Clauson (find additional details about David's award here)
  • Detroit Community Challenge Award: Annie Melcher (find additional details about Annie's work in Detroit here)
  • Board of Trustees' Awards: Rebecca Zantjer and Ariel Vida (find additional details about Rebecca and Ariel's award here)
  • Louis B. Sudler Prize in the Arts: David Clauson
  • Graduating with Honors: Haley Carr, David Clauson, Linnea Jimison, Julia Kramer, Elleda Groeneveld, Kendra Lyons, Kathryn Nowinski, Kate O'Connor, and Logan Pedersen
  • Graduating with High Honors: Anna Breithaupt, Allison Lanese, Grace Pappalardo, Ariel Vida, and Rebecca Zantjer

This commencement ceremony was held in the Great Hall of the Wharton Center and featured performances from RCAHppella, Annie Melcher and Grace Pappalardo as student speakers, Jesseca Taylor as an alumna speaker, and Professor Deidre Dawson as the faculty speaker.

At this time, graudate portraits and additional photos are available to order through Graduation Foto.  For questions about commencement details, please contact RCAH communications manager Katie Wittenauer at

Congratulations, graduates!

Additional Media